Regions of Panama

Panamá is usually seperated into nine provinces (provincias) and two territories (comarcas).

The provinces are : Panamá, Chiriquí, Bocas del Toro, Coclé, Colón, Darién, Herrera, Los Santos and Veraguas. There are also two independent territories: Ngöbe-Buglé and Kuna Yala (San Blas Islands)

The politically seperated provinces are normally not very important for travelling through the country. Therefore we have seperated Panama in 5 travel regions, which we recommend you should visit.

Panama can be divided in 5 regions:

  • Panama–City: Including the panama-canal, although it also reaches the Caribbean cost.
  • The central Caribbean: The beginning of the canal and province capital Colón. In the south of Colón are beautiful beaches.
  • The central Pacific: Not too far from the capital, the central pacific coast passes over to the south-west into the peninsula Azuero.
  • West-Panama: Is consisted of the provinces Veraguas, Chiriquí and Bocas del Toro. West-panama adjoins to the border of Costa Rica.
  • East-Panama: The east encloses the wild province Darién, which reaches to the border of Columbia.

The most important cities of panama are listed below, you can find more information about them at each chapter of the region.

  • Panama-City - capital 
  • David - capital of the province Chririquí
  • Colon- capital of the province Colón
  • Santiago -capital of the province  Veraguas


politische Karte von Panama

Contact us

Please fill out this for and we will come back as soon as possible

family vacations

Individual Trip Costa Rica

active Costa Rica travel

vip tours

VIP- Tours

Exclusive Tours, authentic with highest Standard

Abenteuer in Costa Rica

adrenalin and action

Adventure trips and highly active Tours

Nature and travel

Nature pure

Flora and Fauna are essential for us

Copyright © 1995- 2019 alautentico SA